Sometimes it’s the smallest things

18th Century Mahogany American Card Table, mad...

Image via Wikipedia

I have my times when I feel alone. I feel like I am a screw up that no one wants to talk to, and maybe some people do see me that way but I’ve been working at just being me and enjoying the friends I do have. I also have to remind myself that sometimes I have to talk to them too and if I don’t then they may not talk to me. Yesterday I had an old friend, who I only recently got back in contact with, really raise my spirits. He didn’t do anything that most would consider special, but he did remind me that there are still great people in the world and that things work out to put people in your life when you need them.

A little over a year ago I was in the Goodwill store looking through the books and came across one called “Adult Children of Alcoholics” by Janet Geringer Woititz, Ed.D. Out of curiosity I picked it up and flipped through it. I was relating very closely to some of the things I was reading. She identifies 13  characteristics  typically found and while I can not say I see myself in all of them at the same time I can see where they have occurred at various times during my life.

The 13 Characteristics of Adult Children of Alcoholics:

1. They guess at what normal behavior is.

2. They have difficulty following a project through from beginning to end.

3. They lie when it would be just as easy to tell the truth.

4. They judge themselves without mercy.

5. They have difficulty having fun.

6. They take themselves very seriously.

7. They have difficulty with intimate relationships.

8. They over-react to changes over which they have no control.

9. They constantly seek approval and affirmation.

10. They usually feel that they are different from other people.

11. They are super responsible or super irresponsible.

12. They are extremely loyal, even in the face of evidence that they loyalty is undeserved.

13. They are impulsive.

There is actually a small organization related to the subject. I bought their book and workbook and am going to try to share my journey of working my way through it. I know it would be easier if I joined a local support group but there isn’t one close enough for me to get to with my current employment situation. However, it doesn’t matter because you have to start something before you can finish it, and I’m starting.

Speaking of starting things I have to work on my job search and do some housework! Have a great day!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AJ in Nashville (@ajinnashville)
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 13:16:59

    You go, grrrl! 🙂

    Believe me, you have friends.

    Reply

  2. run4joy59
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 14:58:41

    As an adult child of an alcoholic,I can relate to almost every one of those points…sheesh…thanks so much for the link…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

