How was today? Cruise review reaches Nassau

The straw market in Nassau, The Bahamas.

Image via Wikipedia

Today was planned to be a lazy type of day, playing on the PlayStation 2 or the Wii, but it did not turn out that way at all. I started out by filling out a few job applications, then I ran to the grocery store…again, for more things that I had forgotten. When I go home I sat down at the computer for a few minutes, but then had to deal with J.R. getting up to go to work. Then Ty’s case manager was here to check on him. I’m not sure what she’s supposed to do, but she’s nice and he thinks she has some purpose! After she left I started the migration from the love seat to the new rocker glider as my normal seat. Well I have been cleaning a lot lately and once I get started on whatever section I’m working on I just don’t want to stop until I’m done. For that reason I could be found four hours later just finishing up the cleaning of the couch area trying to start supper at the same time. I never did turn on either of the game systems, but I’m going to try again tomorrow!

I have not heard from any of the jobs I have applied for so far, but I am not going to stress about it just yet. I will just keep finding jobs and applying for them.

Thursday May 12 Carnival Fascination in Nassau, Bahamas

We woke up somewhere between 6:30 and 7 and when I looked out the window to see that we were already in port and there was a Norwegian cruise ship beside us. I loved its paint job! All these bright pink and purple flowers down its side. For the second time since we had left on the cruise I called home and got stressed out. Loved talking to my baby, Ty and J, but still got stressed out. J.K. got in a slight tiff before we were ready to get off the boat, but we finally settled it and headed for land.  Before we made it too far J.K. remembered that she forgot something and went back onto the boat to get it. As she was running in there was a rainbow in the sky! She tried to get back in time for us to get a professional picture taken with it, but we just missed it. I did manage to get a picture of the rainbow itself though so that was okay. We finally got out from the port and knew we wanted to do some shopping and managed to find the straw market. You most certainly have to know how to walk with your head down, say no thank you a lot, and not let them con you into paying a high price. My advice if you’re going to the straw market is to go early when the first stalls are just opening, because those women will give you great deals. After everyone gets their stall open and it gets later in the day then you can find something in one stall for $5 and go over two rows and find it for either $15 or $2. After the morning opening don’t buy anything until after you have walked all the way around and checked out what kind of deals people are willing to give you. The other great time is real late in the day when the ships are getting ready to have to reboard and leave because then they start trying to get rid of their wares. One of these days I”m going to have to go back to Nassau because we never made it past Bay Street. We spent the entire day shopping. I think we went in just about every store along the road, and even seemed to have gone further than where the tourists normally go.  The shopping was great, but I really do want to see more of Nassau one day. We had to be back on the ship by 4:30 and we made it. I tried Conch Fritters and didn’t like them, but I am willing to try conch again in some other dish. It was the 2nd elegant night so we had quick showers and headed for dinner. After dinner was the show-a mix of 80’s tunes and we had a great time there, but then it was comedian time. We headed that way and managed to get really good seats for Lewis Nixon and the Cowboy Comedian. Both of them where extremely funny so we didn’t leave until about 12:30 or 1 a.m. It was worth it though because they were both so funny. We had one more day on the boat before we would be back into the U.S. port. We collapsed into bed trying to decide if we were sad or excited to be so close to being home.

If you ever get a chance to see the Cowboy Comedian DO NOT pass it up!

Related articles

Leave a Reply

