Great Weekend turned into…

Martin Erat at Fan's day in Třebíč.

Image via Wikipedia

A Great Monday night. Which is why I didn’t post yesterday. Let me start at the beginning.

Saturday I went to the Predators vs Capitals game and things just worked out for the best night ever. I have a friend, S.M., with brain cancer that I always try to take with me. After we parked instead of going straight to the arena we walked down the road a bit to one of the many bars on Broadway, and met a few of my twitter friends (at least I consider them friends, because acquaintance is not quite right). We had a pretty good time but left a bit before everyone else so we could get to the arena. S.M. had another friend who she thought was at the game so she sent her a text message and we got a surprise. Some of the team members who were not dressing out that night would be giving autographs after 1st period. We decided to go down early and get in line, and I am so happy that we did. The players ended up being Jerred Smithson, Martin Erat and Jordin TooToo. Martin Erat happens to be my favorite player, and Jordin TooToo is S.M.’s favorite player. I was completely starstruck, and shaking so badly that I had a hard time standing up and stringing two words together. It was worth it though to see the joy for S.M. in getting to meet a player that she has followed since he played for the Brandon Wheat Kings. One of my twitter friends, B.B., had asked me if I was going to be at the game on Monday, and I had to say no because I didn’t have tickets. Then later he sends me a message saying he had tickets for me! I wasn’t sure how to act because I’m not used to people, okay guys, being nice to be when they don’t have to. I was thankful though and told him so. I even gave him a hug hoping that I was really showing how thankful and happy I was.

Sunday I slept almost all day. I don’t know if it was from the pain medicine I took when I got home or if I was trying to get sick. I had to work Monday, but everything was all prepared with my babysitter so right after work I went and picked up S.M. and my BFF J.W., and off to the game we went. First we went to a bar right by the Bridgestone Arena and I had the opportunity to meet  a few more of my twitter friends! It was a blast, though the place was very disorganized and will have a hard time drawing in big crowds of fans I think; but perhaps they’ll make some changes. The game was completely awesome (yes I know that I sound completely unprofessional saying that)! Though apparently I was so zoned out that I did not hear B.B. yell at me. I will have to make sure that I do not do that again. I’m not sure when I will be able to go to another game, but I am really looking forward to the next one, and I will make it to another one as soon as I can.

Of course, I should probably finish that paper for a class I took last fall, and I really have to get to work on my research paper so I can graduate next May! Have a great night, I’ll be back tomorrow sometime!

Leave a Reply

