Really wishing I could type faster.

Plaster cast on forearm/wrist/hand. Picture ta...

Image via Wikipedia

As I’ve said before I am down to one hand at the moment. I go to the doctor on the 13th and hopefully he will remove my splint/cast.  It makes it very difficult to do anything with any type of speed. I can still type fine with my left hand, but I am hunting-and-pecking with my right hand. I’ve seen many people who can hunt-and-peck as fast as I can type, however I am not one of those people.

I learned how to type in high school, and yes it was a long time ago. A little over 19 years ago that I learned to type, wow it does seem like a very long time ago to say it like that. It makes it really hard to go back to the hunt-and-peck method after that many years of typing from the “home row”.

I broke my right wrist when I was 10 years old. I know I had to wear a cast for about eight weeks, but for the life of me I can’t remember how in the world I managed it without going crazy. I’ve had this one on for just over a week and I’ve been ready to rip it off for the last 4 days. I haven’t, but I don’t really know how I’ve stopped myself. I mean really. I was happy today because I figured out how to wash my hair by myself. I have figured out how to get a bit of speed when it comes to typing.

Everyone keeps saying something along the lines of “oh, that must really suck since you’re right-handed.” In some ways it does suck but the biggest problem is the typing problem. The other most annoying problem is anything that requires two hands. Otherwise I do most things left-handed anyway. When I was very little, before I started school I wrote left-handed. When I started kindergarten they told me I had to write with my right hand. I did, and now I do it very well. I have been told that I do things backward a lot. I never thought about it, I just did what felt natural to me, I didn’t think I was doing anything backward. I can still write left-handed but I don’t practice very often so it’s slow and sloppy.

I have some homework to do still, but I really wish I could put it off until after Monday when I can touchtype with both hands again. That’s not going to happen, so I’m still going to have to do the work. Though there are two things that I may put off; I don’t know if I should but I do believe I am going to. I am not giving the work the attention I should just because I’m annoyed about the typing thing. I know I shouldn’t be that way, and that I should still do the work and give it my full attention despite the annoyance but I am not good at doing that yet. It is a fault that I am working on, perhaps I need to speed up the process.

In the meantime my mantra is three more days!

Leave a Reply

