It’s true…sometimes you’re the fire hydrant

Awake Groa Awake Mother illustrated by John Ba...

Image via Wikipedia

Last night was a really bad night for me. I don’t mean that I slept badly, though I did, I mean that my mind was in some major turmoil. First let me tell you about my afternoon.

My 11 year-old son came home with a letter telling me he had been kicked off the bus for being too loud and throwing water on people from his water bottle. Now my son has some issues, he’s a bit spoiled, and the doctors say he has ADHD though I plan on having him reevaluated, but overall he’s actually a good kid who enjoys helping others. I believe I’ve mentioned in a previous post that he’s had problems since he started kindergarten in this horrid school system. There is only one school in the entire county system that the teachers do not seem to judge him from his paperwork first. Regardless of how I feel he is still kicked off the bus, and I’m sure he did something to deserve it.

Thinking of my son as I went to bed got me thinking about my childhood. I was trying to remember if I was mature enough at 11 to stay home alone; because I’m pretty sure I remember myself and my sister (who is only eight months older than me, and technically my step-sister) staying home alone. Those thoughts ran into “I wonder who watched little squirt (my brother) while momma was at work?” I couldn’t remember, I just drew a big blank. So I thought to myself “Well, I’ll just ask momma tomorrow.” Then I remembered. Momma passed away in January of 2006. I couldn’t call momma and ask her. I cried all over again. 34 years old, my momma’s been gone almost five years, and I still cry like a baby after I have a slip up of not remembering that.

It led to a night of dreams. Dreams of my Momma. But I could never catch her and hug her.

Last night I was the fire hydrant. That dog peed all over me. And yet I still don’t know what to do about my son. For now I’m trying to figure it out while crossing my fingers that things work out right. There’s a really good school in Seattle, Washington named Morningside Academy perhaps that’s where we are destined to be.

Younger kids may wrongly get ADHD diagnosis

Leave a Reply

